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Tax Bulletin 3-13
Effective Date: April 1, 2013

Re:  Park City Imposes Additional Resort Communities Tax

Utah Code §59-12-402 allows cities to impose an additional resort communities tax of 
up to .5 percent on taxable sales.

Park City (Summit County) will impose the additional resort communities tax at .5 
percent starting April 1, 2013. The total resort communities tax in Park City will be 1.6 
percent. The new combined sales and use tax rate in Park City will be 7.95 percent.

Report this tax on your Sales and Use Tax Return starting with the following periods:

• April 2013 (monthly fi lers)

• April-June 2013 (quarterly fi lers)

• Jan.-Dec. 2013 (annual fi lers)

For these changes and all other current rates, see the sales tax rate charts at 
tax.utah.gov/sales/rates.

QUESTIONS...
E-mail: taxmaster@utah.gov
Internet: tax.utah.gov
Phone: 801-297-2200
Toll Free: 1-800-662-4335
TDD: 801-297-2020

Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this 
Tax Bulletin. For the most current state and local tax information, 

including local sales tax rates, visit tax.utah.gov.

Randolph Prawitt
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This publication is 
provided for general 

guidance only. It does 
not contain all sales or 
use tax laws or rules.
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Sales and Use Tax 
General Information
Introduction

This publication provides basic sales and use tax informa-
tion. It includes Utah tax law and Tax Commission rules, but 
is not all-inclusive. Future law or rule changes may change 
this publication.

Utah Tax Code
Utah Tax Code is published by Matthew Bender & Co., Inc. 
under the trademark LexisNexis. You must pay a subscription 
fee to access the online site. To order a hardcopy, contact the 
publisher at:

Matthew Bender & Co., Inc.
Attn: Customer Support
1275 Broadway
Albany, NY 12204-2694
1-800-562-1197

You can get Utah Code, Title 59, Revenue and Taxation, at 
no charge at le.utah.gov/UtahCode/title.jsp. Utah tries to 
keep current information online; however, code published at 
LexisNexis may be more current.

Starting a New Business 
If you are starting a new business, see Publication 38, Doing 
Business in Utah, at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Buying a Business · Liability
Check the status of all taxes before you buy a business. 
Keep enough of the purchase money to cover any unpaid 
taxes until the former owner gives you a Tax Commission 
receipt showing that all taxes have been paid, or a certifi cate 
showing no taxes are due.

If taxes are still due 30 days after you purchase the busi-
ness, you will be personally liable for the former owner’s 
unpaid sales taxes. See Utah Code §59-12-112.

What is Sales and Use Tax?
Sales and use taxes are transaction taxes. This means the 
transaction is taxed, not the actual goods or services. The 
buyer is the actual taxpayer. 

Sales and use taxes are trust fund taxes because the seller 
holds the tax in trust for Utah until paid to the Tax Commis-
sion. The funds may not be used for any other purpose.

Sales tax and use tax have the same exemptions and tax 
rates. Either sales tax or use tax applies to any transaction 
— not both. 

Sales Tax
Sales tax is applied to retail sales and leases of tangible 
personal property, products transferred electronically, and 
certain services. The seller collects sales tax from the buyer 
and pays it to the Tax Commission monthly, quarterly or 
annually using form TC-62PC, Sales Tax Payment Coupon. 
See Utah Code §59-12-103 and Rules R865-12L, R865-19S 
and R865-21U.

Use Tax
Use tax is applied to purchases of tangible personal prop-
erty, products transferred electronically, and certain services 
when sales tax is due but not collected by the seller. A buyer 
without a sales tax account pays use tax to the Tax Commis-
sion on form TC-40, Individual Income Tax Return. Examples 
of use tax due include:

• using items from resale inventories;

• buying goods or services tax-free for personal or business 
use (advertising supplies, offi ce or shop equipment, com-
puter hardware and software, offi ce supplies, etc.); and

• buying products from unlicensed, out-of-state sellers.

Sales Tax License
Every seller with an established presence in Utah (see 
Nexus Filers, below) must have a Utah Sales Tax License. 
Submit form TC-69, Utah State Business and Tax Regis-
tration, or register online at osbr.utah.gov to apply for a 
license. Sales tax licenses are not transferable.

Businesses that typically must register for a sales tax license 
include:

• retailers selling tangible goods, products transferred elec-
tronically or services

• wholesalers purchasing resale inventory

• manufacturers

• leasing companies

• consumers such as professional fi rms and construction 
contractors

Nexus Filers
Nexus means a business has established a direct or repre-
sentational presence in a certain state. 

You have Utah nexus if you:

1. have or use an offi ce, distribution house, sales house, 
warehouse, service enterprise or other place of business 
in Utah. 

2. maintain a stock of goods or inventory in Utah. 

3. regularly solicit orders in Utah, even if the orders are not 
accepted in Utah. 

 Exception: Your Utah activity is only advertising or solici-
tation by mail, e-mail, the Internet, telephone or similar 
means. 

4. regularly deliver property in Utah other than by common 
carrier or U.S. mail. 

5. regularly lease or service property located in Utah.

A seller also has nexus in Utah if:

1. a. the seller has more than 10 percent interest in a 
related seller, or

b. a related seller has more than 10 percent interest in 
the seller, or

c. a related seller wholly owns the seller; and

2. a. the seller sells the same or very similar line of prod-
ucts as the related seller under the same or a very 
similar business name, or

b. the place of business of the related seller or one of its 
in-state employees is used to advertise, promote or 
assist sales by the seller to a buyer.
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See Publication 37, Business Activity and Nexus in Utah.

Having Utah nexus requires a seller to collect and pay sales 
taxes and fi le returns. If you have Utah nexus, you must fi le 
sales tax returns every period, even when you have no tax 
liability.

Non-Nexus Filers
Non-nexus sellers do not have to register or collect Utah 
sales and use tax. However, they may collect Utah sales tax 
voluntarily at the combined rate for the delivery location.

When a non-nexus seller does not collect sales and use tax 
on taxable sales, the buyer must pay use tax on purchases 
brought into Utah for storage, use or consumption. 

How to Add an Outlet
Notify the Tax Commission immediately if you add an 
outlet to an existing account. You can add an outlet at 
taxexpress.utah.gov, or use form TC-69B, Additional Busi-
ness Location for a Sales Tax Account.

How to Close an Outlet
Notify the Tax Commission immediately if you close a Utah 
outlet. You can close an outlet at taxexpress.utah.gov, or 
use form TC-69C, Notice of Change for a Tax Account. The 
closed outlet will no longer appear on your pre-printed sales 
tax return.

How to Close a Sales Tax Account
Notify the Tax Commission immediately if you stop do-
ing business in Utah (see Rule R865-19S-25). Use form 
TC-69C, Notice of Change for a Tax Account.

If you need help closing your account, call Taxpayer Services 
at 801-297-2200 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 2200. 

If you do not inform the Tax Commission that you closed your 
business, we may assess an estimated tax, including late 
penalties and interest. 

Definitions (Utah Code §59-12-102)
Delivery Charges 
Charges for preparation and delivery to a location chosen by 
a buyer of tangible personal property, products transferred 
electronically or services. Delivery charges include (but are 
not limited to): transportation, shipping, postage, handling, 
crating and packing.

Purchase price and sales price of tangible personal property 
do not include delivery charges if stated separately. The deliv-
ery charge does not include the cost of transportation to the 
seller (typically called “freight-in”).

Fabrication Charges
Charges to fabricate tangible personal property. Fabrication 
charges are taxable and must be included in the sale price 
before tax is calculated. 

See Tax Commission Rule R865-19S-51

Grocery Food
Substances sold for ingestion or chewing by humans for 
taste or nutrition. Grocery food does not include alcoholic 
beverages, tobacco or prepared food.

Grocery food includes items sold without eating utensils by 
a food maker (other than a bakery and tortilla maker), items 
sold singly and unheated by weight or volume, and bakery 

items (bagel, bar, biscuit, bread, bun, cake, cookie, crois-
sant, danish, donut, muffi n, pastry, pie, roll, tart, torte or 
tortilla). A container or packaging used to transport food is 
not considered an eating utensil provided by the seller.

See also the Prepared Food defi nition below.

Installation Charges
Charges for permanently installing tangible personal prop-
erty to real property.

Purchase price and sales price of tangible personal property 
do not include an installation charge if stated separately.

Installation charges do not include labor charges for repair, 
renovation, manufacturing or fabrication. Real property sales 
are nontaxable. When tangible personal property or prod-
ucts transferred electronically become part of the underlying 
realty upon installation, the purchase and install transaction 
is considered a real property transaction. The contractor is 
the fi nal consumer and must pay sales and use tax on the 
purchase of materials converted to real property.

Prepared Food
1. Food sold in a heated state or heated by a seller.

2. Two or more food ingredients mixed or combined by a 
seller for a single sale.

3. Food sold with an eating utensil provided by the seller 
(plate, knife, fork, spoon, glass, cup, napkin, straw, etc.).

Prepared food does not include:

• food that a seller only cuts, repackages or pasteurizes; or

• raw eggs, raw fi sh, raw meat or raw poultry, or a food contain-
ing these items if the Food and Drug Administration advises 
buyers to cook the items to prevent food borne illness.

Products Transferred Electronically
Audio, video and data that are not delivered on physical stor-
age media (CD, DVD, diskette, tape, etc.). 

Examples include:

• Music

• Reading material

• Ring tones

• Movies

Purchase Price and Sales Price
The total value for which tangible personal property, products 
transferred electronically or services are sold, leased or rented.
Purchase price and sales price include:

• the seller’s cost of the tangible personal property, products 
transferred electronically or services;

• the seller’s expenses, including:

• the cost of materials,

• labor cost,

• service cost,

• interest,

• a loss,

• the cost of transportation to the seller, and

• tax (including federal excise tax) imposed on the seller; 
and

• charges by the seller for any service necessary to com-
plete the sale.
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Purchase price and sales price do not include:

• delivery charges;

• installation charges;

• cash discounts or discount terms offered to buyers;

• coupons that are not reimbursed by a third party; or

• the following, if separately stated on an invoice, bill of sale 
or similar document given to the buyer: 

a. the amount of a trade-in;

b. interest, fi nancing and carrying charges for credit 
extended on the sale of tangible personal property, 
products transferred electronically or services; and

c. a tax or fee legally imposed directly on the buyer.

Real Property
Any right, title, estate or interest in land, including all struc-
tures on the land.

Real property includes construction materials that lose their 
separate identity as personal property once incorporated into 
the real property. These include lumber, bricks, nails and ce-
ment used to build structures on the land, as well as fi xtures 
such as furnaces and built-in air conditioning systems.

Repair Charges
Charges for labor and parts (even if the parts are not actually 
used) to repair, renovate or clean tangible personal property 
or products transferred electronically. Repairs or renovations 
of tangible personal property do not include installing or 
removing prewritten computer software.

Repair charges are subject to sales tax.

For charges to repair, renovate or clean real property or 
tangible personal property permanently attached to real 
property, see Publication 42.

Restaurant
A retail establishment whose business is the sale of food 
and beverages for immediate consumption. The defi nition of 
restaurant does not include theaters, but does include dinner 
theaters. See Utah Code §59-12-602.

Exception: In counties that impose the tourism tax, it does 
not apply to food sales from deli areas, pizza take-out 
counters or salad bars within a grocery store or convenience 
store whose primary business is the sale of fuel or food 
not prepared for immediate consumption. These sales are 
exempt from the tourism tax even if the store has seats or 
stools for customers. However, if a grocery or convenience 
store has a full-service restaurant, the tourism tax is due on 
sales in that restaurant.

Tangible Personal Property
Property that can be seen, weighed, measured, felt or 
touched, or is perceptible to the senses in any manner. Tan-
gible personal property includes electricity, water, gas, steam 
and prewritten software.

Tangible Personal Property Permanently 
Attached to Real Property
A special classifi cation of tangible personal property.

Tangible personal property is considered permanently at-
tached to real property if:

1. the attachment is essential to use the tangible personal 
property, and

2. the tangible personal property will remain attached over 
its useful life.

This includes an accessory attached to tangible personal 
property, if it is needed to operate the tangible personal 
property and is attached solely for that purpose. 

The classifi cation is further supported if removal would 
largely damage either the tangible personal property or the 
real property.

The permanently attached tangible personal property keeps 
its classifi cation even if it is temporarily detached for onsite 
repair or renovation.

The permanently-attached classifi cation does not include:

1. movable tangible personal property attached for conve-
nience, stability, or for an obviously temporary purpose;

2. tangible personal property that is detached for offsite 
repair or renovation; or

3. a dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, microwave, stove, 
washer, dryer or similar appliance.

Transient Room
Accommodations in hotels, motels, inns, trailer courts, camp-
grounds, tourist homes and similar stays of less than 30 
consecutive days. Transient room does not include meeting 
rooms.

Sales-based Tax Rates 
and Types

Tax rates vary from one community to another, depending on 
the taxes each community imposes. Find tax rates online at 
tax.utah.gov/sales/rates.

Determining Tax Rate (Point-of-Sale 
Sourcing)

Sourcing means assigning a sale to a taxing jurisdiction to 
determine the sales tax rate. Sales are sourced by transac-
tion type.
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*Including products transferred electronically.

See Utah Code §§59-12-211, 59-12-212, 59-12-213 and 59-12-214.

ExceptionsSource to:Transaction Type

Sales at special events (fairs, swap meets, etc.) 
are sourced to the event location.

Seller’s fi xed place of 
business (whether or not 
the goods or services are 
delivered)

Location where inven-
tory is warehoused for 
vending machine opera-
tors and sellers who sell 
from mobile inventory

Retail sale of tangible personal property in Utah 
(including vending machine operators and sellers 
who sell from mobile inventory)*

Buyer’s location (the 
place the buyer receives 
the service or property)

Retail sale of tangible personal property or taxable 
services from outside Utah*

If the seller sells tangible personal property on 
the same invoice as the service, the transaction 
must be sourced to  the seller’s fi xed place of 
business.

Sales at special events (fairs, swap meets, etc.) 
are sourced to the event location.

Seller’s fi xed place of 
business OR custom-
er’s location 
(seller’s preference)

Retail sale of taxable services in Utah when seller 
also sells tangible personal property*

Location of activity 
or event (regardless of 
ticket purchase location)

Retail sale of admissions

See Publication 64Retail sale of prewritten computer software where 
there is no transfer of a copy of the software to the 
buyer

Customer’s locationRetail sale of taxable services in Utah when seller 
does not sell any tangible personal property*

If there are no recurring payments:

• source to the location the customer 
receives the goods or services.

• source to the customer’s location if 
shipped from outside the state to a Utah 
customer.

Location the customer 
receives the goods or 
services for down pay-
ment and fi rst payment

Location of the item for 
subsequent payments

Lease or rental of tangible personal property* 
(other than motor vehicles, semi-trailers, trailers 
10,000 pounds or less, and aircraft)

Chart 1: General Sourcing Rules

If there are no recurring payments, source to the 
seller’s fi xed place of business.

Customer’s location 
(address) for all pay-
ments, including down 
and fi rst payments

Lease or rental of motor vehicles, semitrailers, 
trailers 10,000 pounds or less, and aircraft

Tax Rate Changes
Tax rates and jurisdictional boundaries can change quar-
terly. The Tax Commission posts these changes 60 days 
before the effective date. Check tax rates regularly at 
tax.utah.gov/sales/rates.

Rate Changes During Billing Cycles
When the sales tax rate changes during a billing cycle, it is 
applied differently depending on whether the rate increases 
or decreases:

• If the tax rate increases, the new rate applies to the fi rst 
billing period starting on or after the effective date.

• If the tax rate decreases, the new rate applies to the fi rst 
billing statement payment rendered (sent) on or after the 
effective date.
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Example 1: Rate INCREASE
Payments for a 36-month vehicle lease are due on the 15th 
day of each month. After the lease went into effect, the sales 
tax rate increased, effective October 1. The October 15 
payment is for the billing period beginning September 16, 
which was before the new rate went into effect. The October 
15 payment is taxed at the old (lower) rate, even though 
the payment is made after the new rate went into effect. 
The November 15 payment will be for the period beginning 
October 16 and will be taxed at the new (higher) rate.

Chart 2: Taxes in the Combined Rate

Example 2: Rate DECREASE
Using Example 1 above, instead of an increase there 
was a tax rate decrease effective October 1. The bill-
ing statement for the October 15 payment is sent on 
September 16. Although the payment is due October 
15, it is taxed at the old (higher) rate because the billing 
statement was sent before the new (lower) rate went 
into effect. All future bills will be taxed at the new rate.

Combined Sales Tax Rate
The taxes listed in Chart 2 are included in the com-
bined sales tax rate and are fi led on the sales tax return 
(TC-62S or TC-62M). The combined sales tax rate is applied 
to all taxable transactions, except as noted in the chart.

State Sales and Use State 4.70% The state sales tax rate for grocery food is 1.75 percent. 
These transactions are also subject to local option and 
county option and results in a total combined rate on grocery 
food of 3 percent throughout Utah.

None1.00%County, city or townLocal Option

None0.25%CountyCounty Option

Grocery food salesUp to 1.00% County, city or town Rural Health Care 

Grocery food sales0.25%County, city or townPublic Transit, Airport Facility 
or State Highway Projects

Grocery food sales0.10%County, city or townRecreational Facilities and 
Botanical, Cultural and Zoo-
logical Organizations

Grocery food salesUp to .20%City or town City or Town Option 

Sales of motor vehicles, aircraft, watercraft, modular homes, 
manufactured homes or mobile homes are exempt from 
resort communities tax, but are subject to the remaining por-
tion of sales and use tax. This exemption, however, does not 
apply to trailers, off-highway vehicles, snowmobiles, truck-
mounted campers, etc.

Up to 1.60%City or townResort Communities

Grocery food salesUp to 0.30%County, city or townPublic Transit

Grocery food salesUp to 0.30%City or town Highways

Grocery food salesUp to 1.00%TownTown Option

ExemptionsRateImposed ByTax

Grocery food salesUp to 0.30%CountyMass Transit Fixed Guideway

Grocery food salesUp to 0.25%CountyCounty Option Transportation

Grocery food salesUp to 0.05%StateSupplemental State Sales 
and Use

Grocery food salesUp to 0.25%County, city or townCounty of the second class 
airport, highway and public 
transit
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TC-62TNoneTourist home, hotel, motel or trailer court rental for 
less than 30 consecutive days

Up to 
4.25%

CountyTransient Room

TC-62TNoneTourist home, hotel, motel or trailer court rental for 
less than 30 consecutive days

Up to 
0.5%

Salt Lake 
County

Tourism Transient 
Room

TC-62L1%Short-term leases and rentals (less than 30 days) 
of motor vehicles, unless the vehicle:

• temporarily replaces a motor vehicle being re-
paired under a repair or insurance agreement,

• is registered for a gross laden weight of 
12,001 or more pounds, or

• is a moving van for personal household goods

Up to 
7.0%

CountyShort-term Leasing

Electronically1.5%Local exchange service switched access line, radio 
communication access line, voice-over-Internet-
protocol (VoIP)

$0.61 per 
access 
line

County, 
city or 
town

Emergency 
Telephone Service 
E911 locally imposed

Electronically1.5%Local exchange service switched access line, radio 
communication access line, voice-over-Internet-
protocol (VoIP)

$0.08 per 
access 
line

StateEmergency Service 
Telephone charge to 
fund statewide E911 
emergency service

TC-62E1%Sales of natural gas and electricityUp to 
6.0%

City or 
town

Municipal Energy 
Sales and Use Tax

TC-62LNoneShort-term leases and rentals (less than 30 days) 
of motor vehicles, unless the vehicle:

• temporarily replaces a motor vehicle being re-
paired under a repair or insurance agreement,

• is registered for a gross laden weight of 
12,001 or more pounds, or

• is a moving van for personal household goods

2.50%StateMotor Vehicle Rental

TC-62FNoneFood, food ingredients and prepared food sold by 
a restaurant

Up to 
1.0%

CountyRestaurant

ElectronicallyNoneLocal exchange service switched access line, radio 
communication access line, voice-over-Internet-
protocol (VoIP)

$0.07 per 
access 
line

StateEmergency Service 
Telephone charge to 
fund Poison Control Cntr.

ElectronicallyNoneCharges for telecommunications servicesUp to 
3.5%

City or 
town

Municipal Telecom 
License Tax

Reported 
On

DiscountApplies ToRateImposed 
By

Tax

TC-62W3%Sales of prepaid disposable cell phones and dis-
posable cell phone minutes.

1.9% of 
transaction 
amount

StatePrepaid Disposable 
Phones and Prepaid 
Disp. Phone Minutes

Chart 3: Related Taxes and Fees

Related Taxes and Fees
The following sales-related taxes and fees are fi led on separate returns or electronically:

TC-62TNoneTourist home, hotel, motel or trailer court rental for 
less than 30 consecutive days

Cities and towns that meet certain requirements 
may impose an additional transient room tax

Up to 
1.5%

City or 
town

Municipal Transient 
Room

TC-62W2.50%Sales of new tires with a rim size up to 24½ inches. 
Sales tax exemptions do not apply to the fee.

The fee does not apply to used tires, bicycle tires, 
tires attached to human-propelled devices, or tires 
sold and delivered out of Utah.

$1.00 per 
tire

StateWaste Tire Fee
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Other Information
The following miscellaneous taxes and fees may also apply 
to certain sellers. Contact the Tax Commission for more 
information.

• Motor fuel, aviation fuel, and special fuel taxes

• Lubricating oil fee

• Beer, cigarette and tobacco products taxes

• Royalty payment on unprocessed brine shrimp eggs

• Multi-channel audio and video tax

• Sexually explicit business and escort service tax

Sales and Use Tax Exemptions
Utah law provides some exemptions from sales and use tax. 
See Utah Code §59-12-104 for more information.

Exemption Certificates
When an exemption certifi cate is required, the buyer must 
provide the seller with the exemption information in one of 
two ways:

1. On a paper exemption certifi cate: form TC-721, 
Exemption Certifi cate; or form TC-721G, Exemption 
Certifi cate for Governments & Schools.

 A buyer needs to provide a signature when using a paper 
certifi cate.

2. Electronically

 If the exemption information is provided electronically, all the 
information required on the paper form must be included.

A seller can accept exemption certifi cates at face value. A 
seller is not liable for improper exemptions unless the seller 
takes part in claiming a fraudulent exemption.

Sellers must keep exemption certifi cates in their records as 
documentation. A seller may use a certifi cate on fi le for its 
customers’ future purchases. A buyer must notify the seller if 
a certifi cate on fi le is cancelled, modifi ed or limited.

Types of Exemptions
There are three types of sales tax exemptions, based on: 

1. Entity (exemption certifi cate required for sales to an 
exempt entity)

2. Use (exemption certifi cate required)

3. Product (exemption certifi cate not required)

Entity-Based Exemptions
An entity-based exemption is determined by who buys or 
sells the product.

Some common exemptions are:

• Sales to a public transit district or a subcontractor of a pub-
lic transit district, if the tangible personal property is clearly 
identifi ed and installed or converted to real property owned 
by the public transit district.

• Sales to United States government agencies.

• Sales to Utah government agencies (see Publication 56 for 
lodging-related sales).

• Sales of construction materials to most Utah government 
agencies — only if installed by the agencies’ employees.

  Construction materials bought by or for public elementary 
and secondary schools are exempt from sales tax. The 
construction materials must be clearly identifi ed and seg-
regated, and they must be installed or converted to real 
property owned by the school. See Rule R865-19S-23.

 To qualify for this exemption, the purchase must be made 
with the government agency’s funds. A purchase does not 
qualify for this exemption if a government employee makes 
the purchase with personal funds, even if the government 
agency reimburses the employee.

• Sales to U.S. government employees traveling on offi cial 
business, if they present one of the following:

• a complete and signed form TC-721G, Exemption Cer-
tifi cate for Governments, Foreign Diplomats & Schools;

• a check from the government agency;

• a purchase order; or

• a voucher.

 Sellers must keep proof that the purchase qualifi es for 
the exemption, such as a copy of the government check, 
purchase order, voucher or signed form TC-721G.

• Sales made to or by:

• a local agency on aging;

• a senior citizen center owned by a county, city or town; 
and 

• a senior citizen center that contracts with a local 
agency on aging. 

• Purchases by certain enrolled members of Native Ameri-
can tribes (including the tribe itself), if: 

• the member has a tribal card showing a Federal Bu-
reau Number; 

• the purchased item is delivered to the enrolled tribal 
member’s own reservation (in the case of the Ute 
Indian Tribe, the item must be purchased on or deliv-
ered to tribal trust lands within the Uintah and Ouray 
reservations); and 

• in the case of sales to the tribe itself, the buyer must 
present a purchase order, exemption certifi cate, or 
similar evidence of tribal identity. 

 Sales made off the reservation to enrolled members of 
the tribe are taxable. They are exempt from tax only if the 
seller (or a licensed common carrier) delivers the pur-
chased item(s) to the reservation.

• Sales to foreign diplomats. The U.S. State Department 
grants a tax exemption to eligible foreign offi cials assigned 
to the United States. Tax exempt foreign offi cials and 
government offi ces are issued a Tax Exemption Card, valid 
nationwide. The card lists the person’s name, photograph, 
mission employed by, expiration date and identifi cation 
number.

 The exemption cards are used at point-of-sale for exemp-
tion from state and local sales, restaurant and lodging/
occupancy taxes. These cards DO NOT exempt taxes on 
utilities, gasoline or vehicle purchases. The type of exemp-
tion is shown by a blue or yellow stripe on the bottom of 
the card. The items exempted are listed on the back of the 
card.

 Sellers must keep a copy of the card or a valid exemption 
certifi cate as proof of the exempt sale.



page 925

 For more information on the Tax Exemption Program, 
see the Offi ce of Foreign Missions (OFM) web site, 
state.gov/ofm/tax, or contact the OFM San Francisco 
regional offi ce at 415-744-2910.

• Sales of feed, seed, baling ties, etc. to commercial farms.

• Sales of tangible personal property and products trans-
ferred electronically for primary use in farming operations. 
Also, charges for labor, parts and supplies to repair and 
maintain off-road agricultural machinery.

• Sales of electricity and fuel for industrial use as defi ned in 
Utah Code §59-12-102. 

• Sale or lease of semiconductor fabricating, processing, 
research or development materials. 

• Sales relating to schools and fundraising. 

• Sales to religious or charitable institutions.

• If the purchase is $1,000 or more, the buyer takes the 
exemption at the point of sale.

• If the purchase is less than $1,000, the buyer claims 
the exemption by submitting form TC-62N, Utah Sales 
Tax Refund Request, to the Tax Commission.

• If a public utility makes the sale to a religious or chari-
table institution, the exemption must be taken at the 
point of sale.

• If a contract exists between the seller and the religious 
or charitable institution, the buyer may take the exemp-
tion at the point of sale regardless of the dollar amount 
of the sale.

 To be eligible for the exemption, the organization must be 
exempt under IRC Section 501(c)(3) and have a sales tax 
exemption number from the Tax Commission. Submit form 
TC-160 to get a tax exemption number.

• Sales of construction materials to a religious or charitable 
institution, or to a contractor buying for a religious or chari-
table institution. 

• Sales of aircraft, boat and river-running tours. 

• Amounts paid for aircraft tours are exempt if the craft 
enters a federal airway (designated by the Federal 
Aviation Administration) during the tour. 

• Amounts paid for boat tours, scenic cruises, and 
similar services are exempt from tax if the waters of 
the tour or cruise are used as highways for interstate 
commerce. 

 For more information, see Rule R865-19S-113.

• Sales of grocery food, prepared food or alcoholic bever-
ages by a church or a charitable institution, if the items are 
not available to the general public. 

• Sales of grocery food, prepared food or alcoholic bever-
ages by a higher education institution, if the items are not 
available to the general public and are prepaid as part of a 
student meal plan offered by the institution. 

• Sales of grocery food, prepared food or alcoholic bever-
ages provided at a medical or nursing facility for inpatient 
meals. See Rule R865-19S-61.

• Sales to or by a Utah aircraft maintenance, repair and 
overhaul provider to maintain, repair, overhaul or refurbish 
a fi xed-wing turbine-powered aircraft that is not registered 
in Utah.

Use-Based Exemptions
A use-based exemption is determined by the buyer’s use of 
the product.

The following are exempt: 

• Sales of certain vehicles for exclusive use outside of Utah. 

• Property purchased in the regular course of business for 
resale in Utah, either in its original form or as an ingredient 
or component of a fi nished product. 

• Sales for resale or lease. The lease of tangible personal prop-
erty and products transferred electronically is also exempt if it 
meets all of the following conditions: 

• the property is part of a sale-leaseback transaction, 

• sales or use tax was paid on the initial purchase of the 
property, and 

• the leased property will be capitalized and the lease 
payments will be accounted for as payments made 
under a fi nancing arrangement. 

• Purchases of tangible personal property and products 
transferred electronically when sales and use tax is paid to 
another state, unless the other state’s tax rate is lower than 
Utah’s rate. When the tax rate is lower than Utah’s rate, the 
buyer must pay the difference. No adjustment or credit is al-
lowed if the other state’s tax rate is greater than Utah’s rate.

• Purchases or leases of machinery and equipment and 
repair or replacement parts with an economic life of three 
or more years that are used in a cogeneration facility (see 
Utah Code §54-2-1), or a qualifi ed manufacturer or scrap 
recycler (see Standard Industrial Classifi cation Manual 
(SIC) classifi cation 2000-3999). 

• Purchases or leases of machinery, equipment or parts 
with an economic life of three or more years that are used 
in a mining production process or in research and devel-
opment, by a business described in NAICS 212, Mining 
(except Oil and Gas) or NAICS 213113, Support Activities 
for Coal Mining.

• Purchases or leases of machinery, equipment and repair 
or replacement parts with an economic life of three or 
more years used to operate a new or expanding web 
search portal in Utah. Web search portal is described in 
2002 NAICS 518112.

• Purchases or leases of machinery, equipment and normal 
operating repair or replacement parts, with an economic 
life of three or more years, used in Utah to perform quali-
fi ed research.  

• Purchases of construction materials used to construct 
a new or expanding life science research and develop-
ment facility in Utah. The facility must be owned, leased or 
rented by a life science establishment, and research and 
development must take place in at least 51 percent of the 
total area of the facility. The construction materials must be 
clearly identifi ed, segregated and installed or converted to 
real property. Life science establishments are described in 
NAICS 33911, 334510 and 334517.

• Charges for labor to repair or renovate tangible personal 
property or products transferred electronically, if the parts 
used are exempt from sales and use tax. 

• Sales of parts used in the repair or renovation of the fol-
lowing exempt tangible personal property: 

• tools or equipment used exclusively under an aero-
space or electronics industry contract with the United 
States government; 
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• tangible personal property and products transferred 
electronically used or consumed primarily and directly 
in farming operations; 

• snow-making equipment, ski slope grooming equip-
ment, and passenger ropeways; 

• Sales of non-returnable containers, labels, bags, shipping 
cases and casing to a manufacturer, processor, wholesaler 
or retailer for use in packaging tangible personal property 
for resale. 

• Purchases of lists or databases used to address direct mail.

• Purchases or leases by a telephone service provider of 
equipment, machinery or software that have a useful 
economic life of one or more years and are used for the 
following telecommunication purposes: 

• enabling or facilitating,

• 911 service,

• maintenance or repair,

• switching or routing, or 

• transmission. 

• Purchases of property from another state that is brought 
into Utah, only if:

1. the property is used for business,

2. the property is fi rst used outside Utah,

3. the property is not a vehicle, and

4. the property is not rented or leased.

Product-Based Exemptions 
A product-based exemption is determined by the type of 
product. An exemption certifi cate is not required.

The following are exempt: 

• Isolated or occasional sales, if the sale is made by a per-
son who does not typically sell that type of product. This 
exemption does not apply to sales of products for resale 
or to the sale of a vehicle or vessel that must be titled or 
registered in Utah. 

• Purchases of prescription drugs. A drug is defi ned as a 
compound, substance or preparation that is used to diag-
nose, cure, mitigate, treat or prevent disease, or to affect 
the structure or function of the human body. Food, dietary 
supplements, alcoholic beverages and prosthetic devices 
are not considered drugs. Sales of drugs are exempt from 
sales and use tax only if the buyer presents a prescription.

• Sales or rentals of durable medical equipment, including 
replacement and repair parts. Sales or rentals of durable 
medical equipment are exempt from sales and use tax 
only if the buyer presents a prescription for the equipment. 

• Sales or rentals of mobility-enhancing equipment to help 
a person with limited mobility move from one place to 
another. Sales or rentals of mobility-enhancing equipment 
are exempt from sales and use tax only if the buyer pres-
ents a prescription for the equipment. 

• Sales of prosthetic devices, including repair and replace-
ment parts. Eyeglasses and contact lenses are not prosthet-
ic devices. Sales or rentals of prosthetic devices are exempt 
from sales and use tax only if a prescription is required for 
the device or it is purchased by a hospital or medical facility. 

• Sales of disposable home medical equipment or supplies 
that cannot withstand repeated use. Sales of disposable 
home medical equipment or supplies are exempt from 
sales and use tax only if the buyer presents a prescription 
for the equipment or supplies. The equipment and sup-
plies must be eligible for payment under Title XVIII, federal 
Social Security Act or the state plan for medical assistance 
under Title XIX, federal Social Security Act. 

• Forty-fi ve percent of the sales price of a new manufactured 
home, and 100 percent of the sales price of a used manu-
factured home. 

• Fees for unassisted amusement devices, such as arcade 
games.

• Sales of unassisted car washes, and unassisted dry clean-
ing and laundry services. 

• Interstate sales delivered by common carrier or by the 
seller to a place outside Utah. The licensed seller or 
retailer must keep a copy of the bill of lading, freight bill, 
form TC-757 or other proof of out-of-Utah delivery. If the 
property is delivered within Utah to a buyer, the tax ap-
plies, even if the buyer takes the property out of Utah. See 
Rule R865-19S-44. 

• Sales of motor fuels and special fuels subject to Utah fuel 
excise tax. 

• Sales of hay. 

• Exclusive sale of seedling plants, or garden, farm or other 
agricultural produce, if sold during the harvest season 
by the producer, an employee of the producer, or by a 
member of the producer’s immediate family. If the producer 
sells any other product, tax is due on all sales.

• Sales of telephone service charged to a prepaid telephone 
calling card. 

• Sales of newspapers or newspaper subscriptions. 

• Sales of water in a pipe, conduit, ditch or reservoir. 

• Room and trailer space rentals for 30 consecutive days or 
more. 

• Sales of currency or coinage that is legal tender of the 
United States or of a foreign nation. 

• Sales of an ingot, bar, medallion or decorative coin con-
taining at least 50 percent gold, silver or platinum that is 
not legal tender of any nation. 

• Admissions to higher education athletic events.

• Sales of textbooks, if:

1. the textbook is required for a higher education 
course,

2. the seller is not a bookstore owned by an institution of 
higher education,

3. the buyer is enrolled in a course offered by an institu-
tion of higher education, and

4. at least 51 percent of the seller’s sales for the previ-
ous calendar quarter are sales of textbooks for a 
higher education course.

 A Utah institution of higher education means: Dixie State 
College of Utah, Salt Lake Community College, Snow Col-
lege, Southern Utah University, University of Utah, Utah 
College of Applied Technology, Utah State University, Utah 
Valley University, Weber State University.
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 Sellers must keep records to verify these conditions for 
each sale. Additionally, a seller’s records must include 
exemption certifi cates (TC-721) showing the buyer is 
enrolled in courses offered by an institution of higher 
education.

Calculating Sales Tax
Taxable Transactions 

Sales and leases of tangible personal property, products 
transferred electronically, and certain services are taxable 
to the fi nal consumer. The following transactions are taxable 
unless an exemption applies:

• Retail sales or purchases of tangible personal property 
and products transferred electronically within Utah.

• The storage, use or consumption in Utah of tangible per-
sonal property and products transferred electronically.

• Rentals and leases of tangible personal property and prod-
ucts transferred electronically, if:

• the location of the product is in Utah;

• the lessee took possession of the product in Utah; or 

• the product is stored, used or otherwise consumed in 
Utah.

• Labor to repair, renovate and clean tangible personal prop-
erty and products transferred electronically. This includes 
maintenance agreements.

• Labor to repair, upgrade or maintain products transferred 
electronically. This includes maintenance agreements.

• Laundry and dry cleaning services when the labor is not 
performed by the buyer.

• Admission or user fees for theaters, movies, operas, muse-
ums, planetariums, shows, exhibitions, concerts, carnivals, 
amusement parks, amusement rides, circuses, menager-
ies, fairs, races, contests, sporting events, dances, boxing 
matches, wrestling matches, closed circuit television 
broadcasts, billiard parlors, pool parlors, bowling lanes, 
golf, miniature golf, golf driving ranges, batting cages, 
skating rinks, ski lifts, ski runs, ski trails, snowmobile trails, 
tennis courts, swimming pools, water slides, jeep tours, 
horseback rides, sports activities, or any other amuse-
ment, entertainment, recreation, exhibition, cultural, or ath-
letic activity. User fees include access charges for videos, 
video games, television programs and cable or satellite 
broadcasts, if that access occurs anywhere other than the 
buyer’s home.

• Use of assisted amusement devices when the device or 
ride is not operated by the buyer.

• Assisted cleaning or washing of tangible personal property 
if the cleaning or washing labor is not performed by the 
buyer.

• Stays at tourist homes, hotels, motels, campgrounds, 
trailer courts and similar accommodations usually rented 
for less than 30 consecutive days.

• In-state telecom services.

• Meals (prepared food) at restaurants or other eating 
places.

• Sales for commercial use of gas, electricity, heat, coal, 
fuel-oil or other fuels. (Sales of these items for industrial 
use may qualify for an entity-based exemption.)

• Sales for residential use of gas, electricity, heat, coal, fuel-
oil or other fuels. These products are taxed at the state 
rate of 2 percent plus any applicable local and/or public 
transit tax.

• Sales of grocery food. Taxed statewide at the rate of 3 
percent. (Sales of prepared food are taxed at the full com-
bined rate.)

• Sales of prepaid telephone calling cards, including vending 
machine sales of prepaid telephone calling cards, if the 
card can be used for in-state calls.

• Sales of memberships that entitle the buyer to discounted 
or free merchandise or services that are subject to sales 
tax. For example:

1. Memberships that let card holders enter a warehouse 
and buy merchandise free of additional markup.

2. Video memberships that let members rent videos at a 
reduced price.

 All purchases made with these membership cards are sub-
ject to sales tax at the time of purchase unless an exemp-
tion applies.

• Sales of products transferred electronically, if a physical 
copy of the product would be taxable. For example, the 
purchase of a music CD is taxable, so downloaded music 
is also taxable. For more information, see the Additional 
Information section.

Taxes and Fees 
Imposed on the Seller

Municipalities may impose and collect a license fee or tax, 
other than taxes imposed under the Utah Sales and Use Tax 
Act, as allowed by law. You must include city-imposed taxes 
(other than taxes imposed under the Utah Sales and Use 
Tax Act) in the taxable sales you report on your Utah Sales 
and Use Tax Return.

Example: A seller makes a $100 sale in a city that 
has imposed a 2 percent gross receipts tax on rev-
enues. City and state taxes are calculated as follows:

Taxable sales  $100.00
City-imposed tax @ 2%    2.00
Amount subject to state and local taxes $102.00
Combined sales tax rate @ 6.125%  x.06125
State and local sales taxes paid to the state  $6.25
Transaction total (cost of item plus taxes) $108.25

Payments by Gold or Silver Coin
If you agree to accept gold or silver coin in payment for a 
purchase, you must state in your books and records and on 
any invoice all of the following:

1. The purchase price of the item in gold or silver coin and 
in dollars.

2. The amount of sales tax due in gold or silver coin and in 
dollars.

3. The tax rate that applies to the purchase.

4. The date of the purchase.

You must use the most current London fi xing price for the 
type of coin used to determine the tax due in dollars. 
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Filing and Reporting 
Requirements
Accounting Methods

Sellers must use accrual basis accounting to report sales 
and use tax (see exceptions below).  Report all sales and 
use tax on goods sold and consumed during a fi ling period 
on the return for that fi ling period (see Filing Frequency).

You may only use cash basis reporting if one of the following 
circumstances applies:

• a sale includes delivery or installation of tangible personal 
property at a location OTHER than the seller’s place of 
business (the seller must state the delivery or installation 
on the invoice), or

• a buyer who converts tangible personal property into real 
property chooses to report use tax on a cash basis — only 
if the buyer is not required to pay use tax on a monthly 
basis.

Returns
Every sales and use tax account must fi le a Sales and Use 
Tax Return for each fi ling period. Depending on the nature 
of your business, your return is either form TC-62S or form 
TC-62M. If you fi le TC-62M, you must also fi le schedules 
with your return (see Forms and Schedules, below).

If you are liable for sales-related taxes (transient room, res-
taurant, motor vehicle rental, waste tire, etc.), you must fi le a 
separate return for each separate type of tax or fee.

Only fi le once for each fi ling period.

Returns are due the last day of the month following each 
fi ling period. When a due date falls on a weekend or legal 
holiday, the return is due the next business day.

Paper Returns
The Tax Commission mails personalized returns to every 
seller (unless a seller asks not to receive paper returns). 
However, you must fi le returns and pay taxes by the due 
date, even if you don’t receive a return. Get blank forms and 
schedules online at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Online Sales Tax Return
You may fi le your Sales and Use Tax Returns and schedules 
online at taxexpress.utah.gov.

Filing Frequency
Your fi ling frequency depends on your yearly sales tax liability:

• If your sales tax liability is less than $1,000 per year, you 
may fi le annually.

• If your sales tax liability is between $1,000 and $50,000 
per year, you may fi le quarterly.

• If your sales tax liability is $50,000 or more, you must fi le 
monthly.

The Tax Commission will set your fi ling frequency and notify 
you if it changes.

You will fi le the following at the same time you fi le your sales 
tax return:

• Municipal energy sales and use tax

• Municipal telecom license tax

• Lubricating oil recycling fee

• Waste tire recycling fee

• Multi-channel video and audio service tax

• 911 emergency telecom service fee

• Emergency services poison control fee

• Statewide unifi ed 911 fee

• Disposable cell phone fee

Forms and Schedules
What to File

TC-62S, Sales and Use Tax Return, Single Place of Busi-
ness — For sellers with one fi xed Utah location. TC-62S 
fi lers do not need to fi le schedules.

TC-62M, Sales and Use Tax Return, Multiple Places of Business 
— For sellers with multiple Utah business locations or no fi xed 
place of business. Sellers fi le TC-62M if they need to report:

• vending machine sales with multiple inventory locations,

• sales in Utah from a non-fi xed place of business,

• sales exempt from the resort tax in a resort community,

• sales of tangible personal property or products transferred 
electronically that are sent into Utah by sellers with Utah nexus.

TC-62M fi lers must also fi le one or more of the following 
schedules:

• Schedule A, for sales of non-food and prepared food from 
multiple fi xed business locations, based on the seller’s location.

• Schedule AG, for sales of grocery food from multiple fi xed 
business locations, based on the seller’s location.

• Schedule J, for sales of non-food and prepared food re-
ported based on the customer’s location, or consumption 
of tangible personal property or products transferred elec-
tronically at a location other than a fi xed place of business.

• Schedule JG for sales of grocery food reported based on 
the customer’s location.

• Schedule X for sales exempt from resort communities tax.

Seller Discount
Monthly sales tax fi lers may take a seller discount equal to 
1.31 percent of the combined sales tax. Monthly tourism tax 
fi lers may take a seller discount equal to 1 percent of the 
tourism short-term leasing tax adopted by the county. Sellers 
of grocery food may take the seller discount of 1.31 percent 
as if they had collected tax at the full combined rate. Quar-
terly and annual fi lers may not take the seller discount.

Goods Consumed by the Seller
Items consumed by the seller are subject to use tax on the 
amount of the seller’s cost, not the potential sales price. 
Items consumed by the seller include:

• items taken from inventory and used by the seller,

• samples given away for advertising, and

• products consumed by employees without payment.

When you buy products from local businesses for storage or use, 
you must pay tax at the time of purchase. For example, offi ce 
supplies and equipment (such as cash register tapes, returnable 
containers and furniture) are taxable at the point of sale.

A seller may purchase tax-free grocery bags, sacks and 
other non-returnable packaging material that go out the door 
with the customer.



page 1325

No tax is due on items discarded because of spoilage, bro-
ken packaging and similar incidents, because they are not 
consumed by the seller.

The purchase of printed advertising inserts is taxable unless 
the inserts contain the name and publication date of the 
newspaper distributing the inserts and are included in and 
distributed with the newspaper. See Rule R865-19S-65.

Report use tax on your Sales and Use Tax Return.

Employee Incentives and Discounts
If a seller’s employees earn credit (dollars or points) toward 
purchases of its goods or services as part of an incentive 
program, the dollar value of the credit is included in the total 
sales price. Employee incentive program credit is not an 
employee discount.

Employee discounts that are not reimbursed by third parties 
are discounts that are not included in the sales price.

Bad Debts
Only a seller may claim bad debts. A seller may take a sales tax 
adjustment for bad debts. You must deduct nontaxable amounts 
(such as cash back to the customer and exempt charges) from 
the total amount of the bad debt amount to arrive at the net 
write-off amount.

To fi nd the amount of the adjustment you may claim on your 
Sales and Use Tax Return, divide the net write-off (W) by 
one (1) plus the local combined sales tax rate (R) at the time 
of sale.

 W ÷ (1 + R) = adjustment

Example: A retailer has a net write-off of $100. The 
combined sales tax rate in the retailer’s community is 
6.5 percent. The retailer divides $100 by 1.065 to arrive 
at an adjustment claim of $93.90.

You may not take a credit for repossessed items other than 
motor vehicles. See Publication 5, Sales Tax Information for 
Motor Vehicle/Marine Dealer/Body & Repair Shops.

Online Payments
You can pay sales tax online at taxexpress.utah.gov. You 
may use this service whether you fi le electronically or on pa-
per. Online payments can be made by credit card (American 
Express, Discover or MasterCard) or electronic check (direct 
debit to a checking or savings account).

A convenience fee is applied to some payment methods to 
cover service costs. If a convenience fee is required, it is 
clearly listed before you complete the transaction. If you pay 
online, you must still fi le a separate return if one is due.

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
If your annual sales tax liability is $96,000 or more, you must 
pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). Pay online by ACH 
debit at taxexpress.utah.gov.

You can schedule EFT payments up to 130 days before the 
due date and the payment can be withdrawn from your ac-
count on the day you select.

You may also pay with ACH credit. See Publication 43, Elec-
tronic Funds Transfer.

Caution: Do not use other payment methods, such as 
credit cards, to pay current returns if you must pay by 
EFT. Other payment methods do not meet EFT fi ling 
requirements and you will lose your seller discount.

EFT fi lers may pay past-due liabilities with other payment 
methods.

Penalties
The penalty for failure to fi le a tax-due return by the due 
date is the greater of $20 or up to 10 percent of the unpaid 
tax, based on the date the return is fi led. Failure to fi le a tax 
return includes fi ling a tax return without enough information 
for us to correctly distribute local tax revenues. We will add 
another failure-to-pay penalty, the greater of $20 or up to 10 
percent of the tax balance, if the tax balance remains unpaid 
90 days after the due date.

The penalty for failure to pay the full amount of tax due on a 
timely-fi led return, or within 30 days of a notice of defi ciency, 
is the greater of $20 or up to 10 percent of the tax due, 
based on the payment date. Unpaid tax includes tax paid 
without a tax return.

You will also lose the seller discount if you fi le your monthly 
return late or underpay the tax due.

Penalties are imposed at a graduated rate, based on the 
time period of the delinquency.

See Publication 58, Utah Interest and Penalties, online at 
tax.utah.gov/forms.

Interest
Interest is assessed from the original due date until the tax 
liability is paid in full. See Publication 58, Utah Interest and 
Penalties, online at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Overpayments and Refunds
You may fi le a claim for a credit or an overpayment refund 
within either three years from the return due date or two 
years of paying the tax to the Tax Commission, whichever 
is later. However, you may not fi le a claim for a credit or a 
refund on a tax defi ciency that has been legally settled. If we 
deny your claim, you may fi le a Petition for Redetermination. 

Purchaser Refunds
If you pay Utah sales tax to a seller and later fi nd the pur-
chase was taxed incorrectly, ask the seller to credit or refund 
the overpaid tax. If the seller is no longer in business or does 
not provide a credit or refund, you may request a refund di-
rectly from the Tax Commission using form TC-62PR, Appli-
cation for Purchaser Refund of Utah Sales Tax. For more in-
formation, see utah.gov/sales/purchaser-refund-request.

Use Tax and Bad Debts
To claim a refund or credit for use tax and bad debts, amend 
the sales tax return the tax was reported on, or make an 
adjustment on your next sales tax return.

You must explain the legal basis for your refund. If amending 
by paper return, include your legal explanation plus support-
ing documents that verify the transaction(s) is not subject 
to sales tax. If amending electronically, explain your legal 
basis as prompted and provide supporting documents upon 
request.
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If you have multiple business locations and/or a non-fi xed 
location you must amend or adjust the appropriate return 
schedules for the location(s) where you originally reported 
the tax.

Seller Amendments and Adjustments
If you are a seller who has credited or refunded previously 
reported sales taxes, you may either amend the return(s) the 
taxes were originally reported on or claim an adjustment on 
your next sales tax return. If amending or adjusting on paper, 
include the following with your return:

1. Explanation of the changes

2. Documentation provided by the purchaser proving they 
were exempt from the tax (such as an Exemption Certifi -
cate) 

3. Proof that you credited or refunded the tax to the pur-
chaser

4. Adjustments only: calculation of adjustment amount 
(refunded tax divided by current period’s tax rate)

5. Adjustments only: schedule showing which period(s) the 
taxes were originally reported to the Tax Commission 
and, if multiple locations, the locations being adjusted

If amending or adjusting electronically, explain your basis as 
prompted and provide the above documents upon request.

If you have multiple business locations and/or a non-fi xed lo-
cation you must also amend or adjust the appropriate return 
schedules for the location(s) where you originally reported 
the tax.

Do not adjust your sales and use tax return to claim a credit 
for taxes paid to another seller. Instead, you must seek a 
refund from the seller or apply for a refund from the Tax 
Commission using form TC-62PR, Application for Purchaser 
Refund of Utah Sales Tax. (See Purchaser Refunds.)

Record Keeping Requirements
From Rule R865-19S-22
Every retailer, lessor or person doing business in Utah must 
keep complete records used to determine their sales and 
use tax liabilities. You must keep records for three years from 
the date you fi le your tax return. Your records must be avail-
able to the Tax Commission in their original format (paper or 
electronic).

Your records should:

• show all gross receipts from Utah sales or leases of tan-
gible personal property, products transferred electronically, 
or services.

• show deductions and exemptions claimed on sales tax 
returns.

• show bills, invoices and similar proof of all tangible person-
al property and products transferred electronically bought 
for sale, consumption or lease in Utah.

• include original supporting documents (bills, receipts, 
invoices, cash register tapes, etc.) and all schedules or 
working papers used to prepare tax returns.

  Note: It is a third degree felony to knowingly sell, 
buy, install, transfer, use or possess any auto-
mated sales suppression device or phantomware 
with the intent to defraud.

See additional record keeping requirements in Rule 
R861-1A-35. 

Reminders
The information in this publication is only a summary and 
does not include all sales or use tax laws and rules.

1. You must collect sales tax on all taxable sales of tangible 
personal property, products transferred electronically and 
services to the fi nal consumer.

2. You must fi le a Sales and Use Tax Return for every pe-
riod, even when no tax is due.

3. You must notify the Tax Commission in writing if you 
change business locations or add or close sales outlets.

4. If you stop doing business, you must notify the Tax Com-
mission in writing within 30 days of the fi nal date you 
were required to collect sales tax.

5. You must keep your records for three years from the fi ling 
date of a return.

6. Records are subject to audit by the Tax Commission.

7. Sales tax licenses are not transferable.

8. Goods purchased tax-free but used or consumed by you 
or your company must be reported on the Sales and Use 
Tax Return. You must pay use tax on goods you or your 
company consume.

9. You must keep exemption certifi cates from your exempt 
customers to prove nontaxable sales.

10. You must document out-of-state sales with a bill of lading 
or other proof of shipment. The terms of the sale must 
require shipment of the property across Utah’s borders 
by the seller.

11. Round tax up to the next whole cent whenever the third 
decimal place is greater than four.

Additional Information
Bundled Transactions

A bundled transaction is the retail sale of two or more sepa-
rate products that are sold for one combined price. If any 
part of the bundled transaction is subject to tax, the entire 
transaction is taxed unless the seller keeps separate records 
of the tax-exempt portion of the transaction.

Car Washes 
Assisted car washes are subject to sales and use tax. A car 
wash is assisted if any of the cleaning or washing is per-
formed by a car wash employee.

A business location that sells both assisted and unassisted 
car washes must collect tax on all its sales unless its as-
sisted and unassisted sales are recorded separately.

Example 1
A customer buys a car wash and the car is washed by 
machines. This is an unassisted car wash and is not 
subject to sales tax.

Example 2
A customer buys a machine car wash, but a car wash 
employee runs a soapy brush over the car’s wheels at 
the entrance. This is an assisted car wash and is subject 
to sales tax.
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Example 3
As a fundraising activity, a scout troop offers to dry cars 
coming out of a car wash. The scouts are not paid by 
the car wash, so their labor is not a factor in whether 
the car washes are assisted or unassisted.

Cigarettes and Tobacco Products
A business selling cigarettes and/or tobacco products must 
be licensed for each selling location. Apply on form TC-69. 
Find forms online at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Cigarette tax is paid by buying stamps from the Tax Com-
mission. Only registered and bonded businesses may buy, 
receive and affi x stamps. Cigarette stamps must be affi xed 
to each package within 72 hours of receipt of the package. 
Any cigarette pack without a Utah stamp is subject to a $25 
penalty and confi scation.

Tobacco products tax is due from the fi rst buyer within 
Utah. A retail store must be registered and bonded if it buys 
directly from an out-of-Utah source not collecting the tax. Pay 
the tobacco products tax with form TC-553, due the last day 
of the month following each calendar quarter.

Consumers buying cigarettes or tobacco products online 
must pay the sales tax and cigarette or tobacco products tax 
on form TC-720C.

The sale of cigarettes and/or tobacco products is subject to 
state and local sales tax. The amount subject to sales tax 
includes the cigarette tax or the tobacco products tax.

Coupons 
Coupons for which a seller is reimbursed by a third party 
(such as a manufacturer or distributor) do not reduce the 
sales amount subject to tax. The taxable amount is the sales 
price of the item before the value of the coupon is deducted. 

An in-store coupon issued by the seller is considered a reduc-
tion in the sales price. The taxable amount is the amount paid 
for an item after deducting the value of the in-store coupon.

Coupon Books, Gift Cards 
and Gift Certificates

The sale of coupon books is taxable. Collect sales tax on the 
sales price when the books are sold. Buying paper for the 
books and the printing of the books are resale purchases 
exempt from tax. 

The sale of gift cards and gift certifi cates is not taxable. Treat 
the cards and certifi cates like cash and collect sales tax on 
taxable transactions. Buying card stock or paper to make the 
card or certifi cate is taxable.

Direct Mail
A direct mailer may either pay sales tax directly to the printer 
or give the printer a signed exemption certifi cate (form 
TC-721). Direct mail is not exempt from sales tax. An exemp-
tion certifi cate simply shifts who is responsible to report and 
pay the tax. By using an exemption certifi cate, the direct 
mailer reports the tax on its Sales and Use Tax Return rather 
than the printer collecting the tax.

Food Stamps and WIC
Sales of food paid with federal food stamps or Women, 
Infants and Children (WIC) coupons are exempt from sales 
and use tax.

Money Order, Fax and 
Photocopy Charges

Money order fees and charges to send a fax are not subject 
to sales tax. Photocopy charges and charges to receive a fax 
are taxable.

Newspapers and Postage
Sales of newspapers and postage stamps are exempt from 
sales tax.

To qualify as a newspaper, a publication must:

• be published daily or weekly,

• be printed for circulation among the general public,

• contain matters of general interest,

• report on current events, and

• not create a book when multiple issues are put together.

Sales of tabloids (e.g., Enquirer, Star, Globe) and magazines 
(e.g., Newsweek, Ladies Home Journal, Time) are taxable. 

Premiums and Gifts
A premium or gift given away with the sale of a taxable prod-
uct is part of that sale, and the purchase of the premium or 
gift by the seller is not taxable.

Items given away without requiring a special purchase and 
items given away as advertising are consumed by the seller. 
The seller must pay tax on the seller’s cost of those items.

Returnable Containers
Deposits on returnable containers, bottles, pallets and drums 
are subject to tax. When containers are returned for refund 
of the deposit, sales tax should be refunded. Bottle deposits 
are exempt from tax when purchased with food stamps or 
Women, Infants and Children (WIC) coupons.

Returned Merchandise
A customer who receives credit for returned merchandise is 
entitled to a refund of the sales tax. If a customer is given a 
partial refund or allowance, the customer is entitled to a refund 
of sales tax on the portion of the original sales price refunded.

Special Events
A special event is a one-time event or an event that runs for six 
months or less where taxable sales occur. Sales tax is collected 
on taxable transactions at special events. A seller who partici-
pates in a special event must register for a temporary sales tax 
license, even if the seller has a current sales tax license. 

For more information or to get a temporary sales tax license, 
call 801-297-6303 or toll free 1-800-662-4335, ext. 6303, or 
email specialevent@utah.gov.

Third-party Drop Shipping
In third-party drop shipping, a customer buys tangible per-
sonal property or products transferred electronically from a 
business that does not have the item in stock. The business 
buys the items from a wholesaler who sends it directly to the 
customer.

There are two separate transactions in third-party drop ship-
ping. The fi rst transaction, between the customer and the 
business, is subject to tax. The second transaction, between 
the business and the wholesaler, is exempt from tax as a 
purchase for resale.
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If the business has a Utah sales tax license, it must collect 
and pay the sales tax. If the business is not required to have 
a Utah sales tax license, it does not have to collect the tax. 
However, the customer must report and pay the tax directly 
to the Tax Commission.

Trade-in on Manufactured Homes 
Utah Code §59-12-104 provides an exemption of 45 percent 
of the sales price of a new manufactured home and 100 
percent of the sales price of a used manufactured home.

When there is a trade-in, calculate the sales price subject to 
the exemption as follows:

1. Subtract the trade-in amount from the full sales price. 
The difference is the net sales price.

2. Multiply the net sales price by the allowed exemption (45 
or 100 percent) to determine the exempt amount.

3. Subtract the exempt amount from the net sales price. 
This is the portion of the net sales price subject to sales 
tax.

Example: A dealer accepts a trade-in at a value of 
$8,000 against the purchase of a new manufactured 
home valued at $60,000. The calculation is:

Original sales price $60,000
Less trade-in amount  - 8,000 
Net sales price $52,000
Portion of net sales price exempt
from sales tax ($52,000 x .45)  $23,400 
Portion of net sales price subject
to sales tax ($52,000 - $23,400)  $28,600

Vending Machine Sales
Sales of tangible personal property from vending machines 
are taxable. Vending machine sales of items that cannot be 
ingested, such as cigarettes or novelty toys, are taxed at the 
full combined rate. 

Vending machine sales of prepared food, such as sandwich-
es or slices of pizza, are also taxed at the full combined rate. 
For vending machine sales of grocery food, such as packs of 
gum or bags of pretzels, the statewide combined rate is 3.0 
percent. 

Tax is included in the vended price. To fi nd the dollar amount 
of sales without tax, divide the sales by one (1) plus the 
combined tax rate in the community where the vending ma-
chine is located. For example:

• Where the combined rate is 6.0 percent, divide by 1.060.

• Where the combined rate is 6.125 percent, divide by 
1.06125.

• Where the combined rate on grocery food is 3.0 percent, 
divide by 1.030.

A seller of food, beverage and dairy products for $1 or less 
may choose to pay tax on 150 percent of the seller’s cost (in-
cluding incoming freight costs) rather than on the sales price. 
When this option is taken, the taxable amount (150 percent 
of cost) must be reported on the Sales and Use Tax Return 
as goods consumed. 

If the vending machine is owned and serviced by a vending 
machine company, the vending machine company is respon-
sible for the tax. 

Videos and DVDs
Rentals of videotapes and DVDs are taxed as sales of tan-
gible personal property.

___________________

Sales tax publications provide general guidance only. 
They do not contain all sales or use tax laws or rules. If 
you need additional information, call 801-297-7705 or 
1-800-662-4335, ext. 7705 (outside the Salt Lake area), or 
email taxmaster@utah.gov.
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Forms
The following forms are available at tax.utah.gov/forms/ or 
by calling the Tax Commission automated forms order hot-
line at 801-297-6700 or toll free 1-800-662-4335 ext. 6700.

TC-51 – Nexus Questionnaire

TC-55A – Claim for Refund of MV Fees or Sales Tax

TC-62S – Utah Sales and Use Tax Return, Single Place 
of Business

TC-62M – Sales and Use Tax Return, Multiple Places of 
Business

TC-62M Schedule A – Sales of Non-Food and Prepared 
Food from Fixed Utah Locations

TC-62M Schedule AG – Sales of Grocery Food from Fixed 
Utah Locations

TC-62M Schedule J – Sales of Non-Food and Prepared 
Food from Places Other Than 
Fixed Utah Locations

TC-62M Schedule JG – Sales of Grocery Food from Places 
Other Than Fixed Utah Locations

TC-62E – Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax

TC-62F – Restaurant Tax Return

TC-62L – Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return

TC-62N – Sales Tax Refund Request for Religious or 
Charitable Organizations

TC-62P – Instructions for Filing Refund Claims for Sales 
Tax Paid on Pollution Control Facilities

TC-62Q – Utah Sales Tax Sourcing Schedule

TC-62X – Sales Exempt from Resort Tax

TC-62T – Transient Room Tax Return

TC-62W – Waste Tire Recycling Fee Return

TC-69 – Utah State Business and Tax Registration Ap-
plication

TC-69B – Additional Business Locations for a Sales Tax 
Account

TC-73 – Sales Tax Exemption Contract

TC-85 – Agreement for Remitting through Electronic 
Funds Transfer (EFT)

TC-160 – Application for Sales Tax Exemption for Reli-
gious and Charitable Institutions

TC-553 – Tobacco Products Tax Return

TC-719 – Sales Tax Exemption Affi davit for Authorized 
Interstate Carriers

TC-720 – Order for Cigarette Revenue Stamps, or TAX 
for Products Imported for Use, Storage or 
Consumption

TC-721 – Exemption Certifi cate

TC-721A – Sales and Use Tax Exemption Affi davit for 
Exclusive Use Outside Utah

TC-721G – Exemption Certifi cate for Governments, For-
eign Diplomats & Schools

TC-721NR – Sales Tax Exemption Certifi cate for Non-Utah 
Retailers Accepting Delivery of Merchandise 
in Utah

TC-738 – Petition for Redetermination

TC-757 – Affi davit of Out-of-State Delivery

TC-762 – Lease/Rental Sales Tax Affi davit

Sales Tax Publications
The following publications are available at tax.utah.gov/
forms/ or by calling the Tax Commission forms order hot-line 
at (801) 297-6700 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 6700.

Pub 5 – Sales Tax Information for Motor Vehicle/Marine 
Dealer/Body & Repair Shops

Pub 25 – Sales and Use Tax General Information

Pub 35 – Sales Tax Guidelines for Public and Private 
Elementary and Secondary Schools

Pub 37 – Business Activity and Nexus in Utah

Pub 38 – Doing Business in Utah

Pub 40 – Personal Liability for Unpaid Sales, Fuel and 
Withholding Taxes

Pub 42 – Sales Tax Information for Sales, Installation 
and Repair of Tangible Personal Property At-
tached to Real Property

Pub 45 – Sales Tax Information for Nurseries, Florists, 
Landscapers and Related Industries

Pub 53 – Sales Tax Information for Health Care

Pub 54 – Sales Tax Information for Public Utilities

Pub 55 – Sales Tax Information for Restaurants

Pub 56 – Sales Tax Information for Lodging Providers

Pub 58 – Utah Interest and Penalties

Pub 62 – Sales Tax Information for Telecommunications 
Service Providers

Pub 64 – Sales Tax Information for Computer Services 
Providers

Pub 99-ST – Guidelines for Substitute and Copied Utah 
Sales Tax Forms

Information Online
Utah State Tax Commission Website
tax.utah.gov

This site has links to:

• Forms and publications

• Current and past sales tax rates

• Internal Revenue Service

• Utah Counties (business license, property tax)

• Multistate Tax Compact

• Other States’ Revenue Departments

TaxExpress
taxexpress.utah.gov

This site has links to:

• Online sales tax return fi ling and payments

• OneStop Business Registration

• Labor (worker’s compensation)

• Commerce (corporations, DBA registration)

State of Utah Website
utah.gov

This site has links to:

• Workforce Services (unemployment)

• Labor (worker’s compensation)

• Commerce (corporations, DBA registration)
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